Home > Fraternity Chapter Data > Phi Gamma Delta
Login to Parthenon
Fraternity Chapters
Sorority Chapters
Greek Social Honor Societies
Inactive Chapters
Parthenon Help and Assistance
Back to the Greek
Life Homepage

Phi Gamma Delta Fraternity
Omega Mu Chapter

Chapter Information
Chapter Contact
  Chapter Phone Number: (207) 866-4485
Advisor Contacts
  Chapter Advisor: John Smith
Head of Alumni Board: Jim Fasset
National Representative: Matt Whitlock
Live in Advisor:
Faculty Advisor:
National Information
  Website: http://www.phigam.org
Founding Date: May 1st, 1848
Founding Location: Jefferson College, PA
Founders: 6
Philanthropy: American Red Cross
Nickname: FIJI
Color(s): Royal Purple and White
Flower: Purple Clematis
Symbol(s): Black Diamond
Jewel: ---
Magazine: Phi Gamma Delta
Motto: Friendship, the Sweetest Influence!
Local Information
  Founding Date: February 28,1874(Q.T.V.) October 24th, 1899 (FIJI)

 [ Go to the Top ]

Chapter History



In view of the attitude of the Greek letter fraternities, it was natural for a group of men at the Maine State College to accept a charter from the Q.T.V. fraternity, founded at the Massachusetts Agricultural College in 1869. On February 28, 1874, David P. Penhallow, M.A.C., 1873, installed the Orono chapter of Q.T.V., the second chapter of that fraternity. The charter members were John I. Gurney, 1874; David R.Huner, 1874; Charles F. Colesworthy, 1875; Alfred M. Goodale, 1875; Edson F. Hitchings, 1875; George M. Shaw, 1875; and Sidney S. Soule, 1875. The college authorities were inclined to look with doubt upon the fraternity idea, but a committee waited upon President Allen to give him information he desired. Dr. M.C. Fernald, then Professor of Mathematics and Physics, and himself a fraternity man, used his influence favorably. A statement of the principles and objects of the fraternity was laid before the trustees which proved satisfactory to that body. The pioneer fraternity prospered from the start, but it did not remain long wihtout opposition, for on September 25, 1875, the Eternal Companions (E.C.) Society was organized by William T. Haines, 1876, and eleven associates. This society was formed with a definite purpose of obtaining a charter from a Greek letter fraternity. The endorsement was secured of prominent alumni of one of the leading eastern fraternities, but it soon became apparent that the prejudice against the land grant colleges was so great as to make success impossible in this or any other of the older eastern fraternities. The idea of a charter from a Greek letter fraternity, however, was firmly fixed, and an offer was declined of a charter from D.G.K., a fraternity which, like Q.T.V., had been established at the Massachusetts Agricultural College. The members of the local chapter of Q.T.V. had become dissatisfied with that fraternity as early as 1891. It had established a third chapter at New Hampshire College, the affiliated with Dartmouth, in 1881, and a few years later entered Pennsylvania State, Worcester Polytechnic, and Cornell, but the Worcester and Cornell chapters disbanded and that at Pennsylvania State entered Kappa Sigma. The lack of success of the extension policy had much to do with the dissatisfaction of the Orono chapter, which finally, in 1899, withdrew and immediately entered Phi Gamma Delta. Most of the Q.T.V. alumni have affiliated with that fraternity.


 [ Go to the Top ] 

Symbols and Insignia
Crest New Member's Pin Member's Badge

 [ Go to the Top ] 


Executive Officers

  President: Sumner Blatt
  Treasurer: Robert Brown
  Recording Secretary: Andrew Rollins
  Corresponding Secretary: Charles Haritos
  Historian: Nick Andrews

 [ Go to the Top ] 


Member Roster

Alexander Morton Andrew Katon Andrew Myers
Andrew Rollins Austin Fagan Ben Strickland
Benjamin M. Grondin Benjamin Morton Bret Stuart
Bussiere M. Cameron Cameron Dewitt Charles Haritos
Clark Prince Connor Hursey Cory Nason
David Kerschensteiner Ethan Eisenhaur Frankie P. Welch
Hunter Sherman James Crossland Jeff Eldridge
John Bilodeau Jonathan Mulderig Joseph D. Violette
Lance Bradshaw Matthew Bernard Matthew McGuirk
Miles Gagnon Nicholas Proscia Nick Andrews
Noah Mikaelian Phillip Walker Pierson Petropoulos
Robert Brown Ronald Farwell Ryan Darala
Shane D. Arnold Sumner Blatt Thomas C Tripp
Travis Guay Travis Sherman Tyler Picard
Tyler Shortsleeve Tyson Thongsavath Zach Dyson
Indicates Pledge / New Member

 [ Go to the Top ] 



  Address: 79 College Ave.
House Phone:
(207) 866-4485

House Capacity: 30
People in House:

House Cook: Cook

Cost of Living
     Cost of Room:

Parlor Fee:
*Parlor fees are paid by members not living in.


 [ Go to the Top


Chapter Information
  Chapter Contact
Advisor Contact
  National Information
  Local Information
Chapter History
Symbols and Insignia
Executive Officers
Member Roster


A Member of the University of Maine System